Thanksgiving Nails

Standard

I have this entire week off of school because of Thanksgiving so that means a week at my parents house! 🙂 I’m so excited, a week full of family and friends is exactly what I needed.  Anyway, my mom always decks the house out for every holiday so no matter where I walk in my house it feels like I’m in an autumn wonderland.  This inspired my “Thanksgiving Nails”!  All of the browns, oranges, reds, and yellows are so beautiful that I wanted to capture the autumn ambiance in my nail art.  So this is what I came up with!:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now the “How to”!:

What you will need:

  • Sally Hansen: Advanced Hard as Nails, Nylon + Retinol Strengthener
  • OPI: “Suzi Loves Cowboys”
  • OPI: “So Hot It Berns”
  • Kiss Nail Art Paint in Orange (Walgreen’s)
  • Kiss Nail Art Paint in Yellow
  • Nail art fine tipped brush

First Step: Prep your nail (file, buff, cut cuticles).  Put on the clear Hard as Nails nail polish to help protect your nails and also build up the strength.  Putting on a clear coat can also help prevent your nails from being stained by your nail polish.

Second Step:  Apply “Suzi Loves Cowboys”.  Wait until it dries and apply a second coat.  This nail polish looks dark but in reality when you apply it, it is fairly light which is why you will need two coats.  I love this color and have worn it a lot this season, it is a rich chocolate brown which is perfect for fall and Thanksgiving!

Third Step:  Using the fine-tipped brush, dip it into “So Hot It Berns” and create about four lines branching out from your cuticle.  Repeat this on all nails.  BE AWARE that you will need to go over each line multiple times as this color does not like to show it’s brightness over the chocolate brown.  Even though you need to repeat this step several times, I promise the look will be worth it!  Wait for red to dry before heading onto the next step.

 

Fourth Step: Now apply the Nail Art Paint in Orange on top of the red lines.  Here you will want to put the orange in the gaps between the red lines.  This will be much easier to apply than the red because this is a neon color so I only needed to paint on each line once.

Fifth Step:  Once the orange dries apply yellow lines.  You’ll want to put this in between any gaps you have between any color.  This all will create a fan-like look.  It will almost look like an elegant array of turkey feathers or oak leaves!

Sixth Step:  Once all of the colors dry, apply the Sally Hansen “Mega Shine” to really make all of the colors stand out.  And you’re done!! The whole nail project took me about an hour and 15 minutes, so not too bad!!

I hope you enjoyed my Thanksgiving nails, if you have any questions, comments, or concerns feel free to comment!!

Be sure to follow my Instagram where I post a lot of my looks!: staciakay19

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

