Winter Frost Nails

Standard

So Colorado has had almost no snow and it is not beginning to look a lot like Christmas over here!  But, alas, I tried to bring some of that winter frost look to my nails!  This is inspired by what I’ve seen on Pinterest but I used a light blue as the back drop and just applied some glitter to give it that “icy” look! 🙂 Here’s how to!:

winter frost

 

What you will need:

  • Sally Hansen: Advanced Hard as Nails, Nylon + Retinol Strengthener
  • Revlon: “Blue Lagoon”
  • China Glaze: “Ray-Diant”
  • Sally Hansen: MegaShine

First Step: Prep your nail (file, buff, cut cuticles).  Put on the clear Hard as Nails nail polish to help protect your nails and also build up the strength.  Putting on a clear coat can also help prevent your nails from being stained by your nail polish.

Second Step: Apply “Blue Lagoon”.  This is a very thick nail polish so be sure to wipe away excess polish on the edges.  This has some sparkles in it which really adds to that winter frost look!

Third Step:  Apply “Ray-Diant” to the cuticles.  You may just want to put a blob of polish on there (if you’re like me then you’ll be bugged because that is a lot of polish but fear not!).  What I do next is gently press down with my finger and move the glitter polish so it is all around my cuticle and then I push it up so there is a light bit of glitter going towards the tip of my nail.  I do this on all nails and wait a few minutes and then I repeat the process.  You want to be sure that you’re not spreading the glitter all over the nail, you want it to create a sort of “ombre” look so it will taper off in the middle and won’t be as glittery as it is near the cuticle.  I did this step about three times to be sure my nails were super glittery.

Fourth Step:  After my nails have almost completely dried, I applied the MegaShine to make this look really shine.  Icicles are glossy and that’s what I wanted this look to reflect!

Thanks for reading! If you have any questions, comments, or concerns feel free to leave a note!

Leave a Reply

